Hope Star - Hope, AR
  • Wilson named to state post

  • Hope Police Chief J. R. Wilson has been elected as the second vice president of the Arkansas Association of Chiefs of Police.
    • email print
  • hope police chief j. r. wilson has been elected as the second vice president of the arkansas association of chiefs of police. wilson, who has been a member of the statewide association for the past 10 years and has served on the executive governing board of the organization for seven years, will serve as second vice president for 2013-2014, according to an announcement by the aacp. he has previously served as southwest regional vice president of the organization, which will be filled by hot springs police chief david flory. wilson is a 21 year veteran of law enforcement, and has served as hpd chief since january, 2003. he was chosen as the aacp “chief of the year” in 2012, and has served as the chair of the committee which developed groundbreaking model policy for police departments across arkansas. the aacp model policy allows police departments to better coordinate training and local policies with current court precedents and changes in federal and state public policy; and, it provides online updates which can be incorporated into real time training. wilson began his law enforcement career in the dallas, texas, police department, and he served as a field agent of the federal bureau of investigation prior to being named hope police chief. other aacp officers elected included chief montie sims of dardanelle, president; chief gary sipes of jacksonville, first vice president; chief jackie davis of cabot, secretary/treasurer; chief russell white of alma, at large representative; retired chief kyn wilson of clarksville, retired chiefs’ representative; chief gary kelley of marion, northeast regional vice president; chief greg tabor of fayetteville, northwest regional vice president; assistant chief ronald scott of helena-west helena, southeast regional vice president; chief david flory of hot springs, southwest regional vice president; and chief percy wilburn of lake village, past president.

    Events Calendar